What is a Steering Committee?

The Group Steering Committee (GSC) is comprised of the 8 members who hold specific offices - Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, GPIO, Minute Taker, GRE, GSR and Alternate GSR  - plus other members elected by the GC.

  • Not all SA Groups have a GSC. Those that do, have found this an efficient means for their trusted servants to tackle the Group's routine business.
  • The GSC frees the GC to concentrate on the most significant questions.
  • Group issues are often discussed first by the GSC and are then brought to the GC for a vote.
  • Service rotation ensures that new people join the GSC at regular intervals, whilst the presence of the longer-term Group officers provides stability and continuity of experience. This ensures that the Group is not continually ‘reinventing the wheel’.

Our GSC presently comprises:

  1. GSR
  2. Chairperson
  3. Treasurer
  4. Minute Taker
  5. Group Report Editor
  6. Secretary
  7. Alternate GSR
  8. Group PI Officer

Observers are welcome at all open GSC meetings, but do not participate in debates unless invited to do so. Closed GSC meetings are held twice a year, to discuss Service Nominations.